What Does Community Mean To You?

When you think of the word – Community, what comes to mind?

A neighborhood?

A place to hang out?

A group of people?

As defined in Webster’s, here are ALL the definitions!!! Just bear with me a minute. 🙂

: a group of people who live in the same area (such as a city, town, or neighborhood)

: a group of people who have the same interests, religion, race, etc.

: a group of nations

:  a unified body of individuals: as

a :  statecommonwealth

b :  the people with common interests living in a particular area; broadly :  the area itself <the problems of a largecommunity>

c :  an interacting population of various kinds of individuals (as species) in a common location

d :  a group of people with a common characteristic or interest living together within a larger society <a communityof retired persons>

e :  a group linked by a common policy

f :  a body of persons or nations having a common history or common social, economic, and political interests <the international community>

g :  a body of persons of common and especially professional interests scattered through a larger society <the academiccommunity>

2
:  society at large
3
a :  joint ownership or participation <community of goods>

b :  common character :  likeness <community of interests>

c :  social activity :  fellowship

d :  a social state or condition

Ok so we have enough definitions and examples, don’t ya think? Community to me is my family,
My cute family!
My cute family!
Doggie community
Doggie community
Chicken community - sharing the bounty!
Chicken community – sharing the bounty!
my friends, my coworkers at the Farmer’s Market and of course, my Ladies Homestead gals.
No matter what you call your group, your peeps, you do things with and for each other  and share or contribute to build relationships.
Without community, we are just one lonely soul thinking we can do it all by our self with no help from others. Sad but true for some. Community makes us stronger!
You frequently hear me talk about bartering at the market and with friends and know that I LOVE this. I would be so on board with a no money barter only society but I don’t think that is going to happen anytime soon, if so I am ready. 🙂
My market community – I had one loaf of bread left at the market this week and Hal from Foster-Brady Farm next door to me had some veggies left. I gave  him the loaf and he shared with me a bunch of stuff!!! So sweet! He did not want to go home with it so I happily obliged. I got a bag – big bag of broccoli, three 8-ball squash and some kale and lettuce. Sharing equals happiness!!
I purchased the cabbage , beets and dog treats
I purchased the cabbage , beets and dog treats
While packing up, Gail had some flowers left so she gave me some lilies and echinacea.
20140607_132446_resized (1024x576)
So what did I do with all that broccoli?
We ate some that night then today I cut it all up and put the florets in ziplocs and now what to do with all those stems???? I just can’t see throwing them out, maybe soup.
20140610_124628_resized (1024x576)
20140610_125143_resized (1024x576)
PS The color came out weird in the stalks pic, they are all green!!! Hahaha…
Here are a couple ideas I should try!

Broccoli Stalk Soup

Broccolli_Stalks_Soup

Broccoli Hushpuppies

broccoli hushpuppies
OR Holy Moly !!
Broccoli Stem Pesto
Broccoli Stem Pesto
Enjoy your day today and share with me what community means to you. 😀
Anne-Marie

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑